How did you change careers into data science?

• 13 April 2022
  • 4 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Working at Peak, we have such a diverse team of data scientists, and I’m always interested in hearing about people’s routes into data science, particularly the less conventional routes! 

I worked in various roles in business intelligence and data engineering before deciding to move into data science, and I did a two year part-time MSc in data science to get me into my new career. This got me up-to speed with the maths and statistics knowledge that I lacked from my non-technical undergraduate degree.

What career(s) did you have in a previous life? I’d love to hear about how you made the transition into data science and what skills from your previous jobs were transferable?

4 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Before joining Peak I was all ready for a lifelong career in academia. Half-way through my PhD in Epidemiology I realised that academic life is not for me. I wanted to work in a fast-moving and exciting industry but still be able to use my research, problem solving and coding skills. I think that my biggest issue in changing careers wasn’t proving that I can be a data scientist but realising that I actually do have the necessary skills myself. It can be so difficult if you don’t have a traditional STEM background to realise that there are many many paths to working in tech. Something that helped me was listing every single project I ever worked on (including in my spare time and during my social science studies) and every single skills (no matter how small) I had to use/develop to complete it. It was an eye-opening experience! 

Userlevel 3
Badge +1